What’s My Life Purpose?

Date: December 9th, 2013
Deck: Black Cats Tarot
Spread From: I made it up.

A few days ago I had suddenly been a little obsessed with finding out what my life purpose was, or at least a part of it.  And so I made up this five-card spread.  With a few quick changes in wording, I think it could also be a What Do I Need To Work On? spread.

1) What is my purpose for this lifetime?

wands-6-x

6 of Wands (reversed) – egotism

I feel this can also mean pride or wanting to be center of attention. Over the years I have learned that I can be quite prideful of work I have done or achieved. However, while I feel that others should at least acknowledge what I have done, no one does… because I don’t tell them. The reason I don’t tell people is because I know that what I’ve done is a small little thing that is only important to me… and yet I still want to be highly praised for my good work.

So, my life purpose (or part of it, at least) is to know that it’s okay to take pride in what I’ve done, but to not put my pride before me.

2) How can I achieve that?

cups-1-ace

Ace of Cups – love, compassion, creativity

Take any opportunity I can to show people that I love them, to show compassion, and to let my creativity soar when it comes to others and sharing emotions. I need stop closing in on myself and let others see what I can offer in regards to loving them, especially if peace can flow.

3) What can I do to be one step closer to my life purpose?

cups-5-x

5 of Cups (reversed) – moving on, acceptance, forgiveness

Okay, this card has come up a few times during tarot readings for myself, and I think I know what it’s about on the small scale and the big picture of my life.

When I see this card it reminds me of when I was mourning the end of relationship earlier this year. I see myself curled up and crying because of the sudden loss of happiness and joy… and I’m still feeling the effects from it. They emotions aren’t as sharp as they used to be but I know why they were caused. I need to accept what happened and the reasons behind it.

In general, I need to understand that I’m going to get hurt. From the big life changes to the little words that people say that sting. I need to accept that these things happen and move on.

4) What is blocking me from achieving my life purpose?

wands-knight-x

Knight of Wands (reversed) – haste, scattered energy, frustration

I am trying to achieve too much. I want to learn everything I can about my spirituality, my paganism, Artemis, am I meditating right?, am I seeing Artemis the same way everyone else does?, am I the only one who believes this?, crocheting, reading, printing everything out from my computer… I want to compete ALL OF THE THINGS!!!

But I can’t, because I’m only human. So when I want to do something but for some reason I can’t, I can get frustrated that I’m not advancing on this project like I wanted to be.

5) How can I overcome this blockage?

wands-8

8 of Wands – speed, action, movement

I need to stop being so scatter brained and just focus on one or two things. I have all of this energy and ideas that, if I continued to want to do everything, then nothing is going to get done. But if I use channel this energy into a couple of things, then progress will come all the more swiftly.

Leave a Reply

